>Just call me Aldous Husák – my life as a social engineer

>I’m a sucker for political simulation games, so I couldn’t resist signing up for the off-the-wall Nation States site run by science fiction author Max Barry, which lets you create your own utopia/dystopia based on a sign-up questionnaire about your values and a weekly policy choice questions as various issues like strikes, taxation, the rights of nudists arise. I had wanted to create a socially progressive liberal enclave with a dash of paternalistic social control (OK, I felt, on this occasion as provided by my good self), but have accidently engineered a society which is something between normalization Czechoslovakia and Brave New World.

I’m currently trying to pursue a liberal economic policy, so I can go from being Aldous Husák to Aldous Hayek.

Leave a Reply

