>Memories Russian back

>

I spend part of the weekend clearing boxes of old possessions, some dating from my student days, from my parents loft: amid the pots and pans and dusty electric kettles, I uncover two boxes of rather good quality Russian language classics dating from my time doing a French and Russian Studies degree at Leeds University. Sadly, I won’t have the time to (re-)read, they go onto E-bay. to find good homes. Any Russophone readers with a literary bent check them out here Oddly, beyond a copy of Trotsky’s History of the Russian Revolution and a Russian translation of Djilas’s Conversations With Stalin – which I remember reading on a train going to or from Kiev – there is nothing about much on politics. Pausing for a cup of tea, I dip into a novel by Chingiz Aitmatov, one of our second year set texts as I recall. Pleasingly, I can still more or less follow it.
Leave a Reply

